11 Things Meg Was Obsessed With in 2015

aerialbigben.jpg

It’s safe to say that 2015 was quite a year. I spent months in London, spent most of my summer in the car driving back and forth between Maine and New Hampshire, and started my senior year of college. But still, I managed to find time to become obsessed with everything in my wake. Somehow I narrowed it down to just 11 things I became obsessed with this year.

1. London

You know the people who will not stop talking about the time they studied abroad and you want to hit them so badly? I become one of those people this year. I spent four of the coolest months of my life in London and it was one of the most incredible places in the world. I loved spending every second in that beautiful city and dreaded having to leave. I plan on living there someday so someone please hire me so I can go back!

2. Hamilton

Despite the fact that I have not been #blessed with tickets to the musical yet, I am obsessed with it. The story goes back to 2010 when I first heard Lin-Manuel Miranda rap about Treasury Secretary Alexander Hamilton and was immediately hooked and since it was released, I’ve been listening to the cast album on replay. As much as I hate that I can’t afford tickets, I love how well it’s doing. It’s single handedly making history cool again. Rock on, Lin-Manuel Miranda.

3. James Bay

For me musically, this was the year of James Bay (or should I say James Bae). I don’t think I’ve loved an entire album like I love every song on Chaos and the Calm. He fits in well with Hozier, George Ezra, Ed Sheeran, and Iwan Rheon. I discovered him while in London and I can’t listen to it without thinking of my wonderful time there. What can I say, I have a soft spot for guys and guitars.

4. Game of Thrones

You GUYS! Game of Thrones is SO good. This is something that literally everyone on the planet already knew but I have arrived fashionably late to the party. I was recently #blessed with HBO Now (aka I’m leeching on a friend’s subscription), skipped Go, and immediately went to GOT. I have so many thoughts that I’ll probably write a whole series of future posts about my favorite characters and my many, many, predictions. I should probs read the books now.

5. Little Mix

The four beautiful voices that make up Little Mix saved me at a crucial moment in my life: when I was about to fall asleep while driving at 6 a.m. on my daily commute to NH They ended up being one of my top played artists on spotify, and I’m almost 90% sure it comes from being played constantly in my car and in my room when I have a dance party of one. Little Mix, you’re just what I need to balance out the One Direction in my life.

6. Sam Claflin

Sam Claflin is hot. Sam Claflin is also incredibly talented. I watched many of his movies this year, and only one of them was part of the Hunger Games franchise. While Finnick is arguably one of my favorite characters in the books and Sam’s performance added on to the character’s appeal, it was really cool to see him act in movies so different from the one that’s made him a household name. He was heartbreakingly good as in Alex in Love, Rosie and terrifying horrible as Alistair Ryle in The Riot Club. Ultimately, I think Sam’s performance, along with Max Irons and Holliday Grainger’s performances, ultimately makes up for the underdeveloped story. Regardless, Sam is beautiful and a great actor and I hope he does great things.

7. Nando’s

Simply put, Nando’s is bomb. The peri-peri chicken is magical, as are the sides and prices. America, what are you even doing with yourself? If I could teleport back to my local Nando’s on Baker Street, I would order a peri-peri chicken burger with a side of spicy rice and garlic bread and medium sauce, stat. Miss you, boo.

8. Chrissy Teigen and John Legend

If there’s one thing Chrissy and John have taught the world, it’s that growing up and settling down doesn’t have to be boring. They had a whirlwind year as John won every major award (with Common) for the song “Glory”, from the movie Selma, Chrissy began hosting talk show The Fab and served as resident bartender of Lip Sync Battle AND finished her cookbook. To cap off an incredible year, they’re also expecting their first child. Cheers, you too! I’ll be obsessively following you into the new year!

9. Iwan Rheon

Like James Bay, Iwan Rheon followed me everywhere. I fell in love when him, rooted for him, adored him, and was repulsed by him in one calendar year. Through my binging of Misfits (which I tried to make everyone else around me watch this year), Vicious, and Game of Thrones, Iwan popped up on my TV (well, computer) practically daily. Additionally, he released a full album this year, after three EPs. He’s everywhere, guys. Jump on the bandwagon.

10. British T.V.

Bless you, British Netflix. Of the many wonders of the beautiful United Kingdom, my discovery of British Netflix was timely. As I spent much the first few weeks near death with some sort of illness, I found my way to Misfits, Fresh Meat, Catastrophe, the U.K. comedies of my dreams. Although I am gone, my newfound love for British T.V. has traveled back to America with me. British T.V., you’ll always be in my cold, cynical heart.

11. Teriyaki Chicken Bowl

During my hiatus from America my school added this gift from God to the menu at our on-campus cafe. Rice? Check. Teriyaki chicken? Check. Spicy mayo? Check. Heaven in a bowl? Duh. I spent almost as many meal plan dollars on this dinner as I did on coffee. It was so good that I even learned how to make it for myself. I’m sure the Teriyaki Chicken Bowl will go down in history as one of my college highlights.

There you have it, my Barbara Walters-esque, slightly disappointing list of people, places, and things I loved in 2015. Cheers to an ambivalent 2016!

Leave a Reply

